A Passing of a Great Friend

Jonathan Hicks

Jonathan P. Hicks

I was told that Jonathan Hicks passed yesterday morning on my way to work. It was a little unexpected but I wasn’t surprised given the nature of his condition. A week before Jonathan’s passing my brother died in Memphis where I had to go down south and be one of his pallbearers. Laying family to rest isn’t easy.

In the case of Jonathan, I first met him in a men’s meeting at church. He introduced himself to me and gave me his number and told me that I could call him anytime. I didn’t know him at the time so it took me a while to reach out but when I did it was one of the best decisions that I made in my life. Our first meeting was at a restaurant called Chez Oskar. We sat for about 2 hours and talked about where I was spiritually. In that meeting there was an immediate connection to someone I considered family, a brother, a friend, and a mentor.

What I found most intriguing about Jonathan was that he knew thousands of people from the President of Monaco, to the late Reginald Lewis, to me, to the guy down the street, and anyone else that you’d normally not give a second look to on the street. And in those people I’m willing to bet that he had a close relationship with half of them, which is an incredible feat in itself. If you didn’t know Hicks you should have. He was an incredible man and a one of a kind friend.

The last time I saw Jonathan was in late June or early July of this year. We sat for about 15 minutes in front of La Bagel and caught up with each other. There was a time that I saw him everyday but life took us in different directions so in his months leading up to now I didn’t see him as often. But there is one thing that Jonathan always never forgot to say. He always said, “I love you, brother.” That’s probably more important to me than anything. With Hicks there was never anything left unsaid.  I love you, brother.

Eddie Bailey

About writingbattleraphistory

I journal music, pop culture, and Battle Rap culture. WritingBattleRapHistory started off as a blog dedicated to Battle Rap that expanded into other genres. WritingBattleRapHistory is a branch of a larger company that I own & operate, The Savoy Media Group. This blog is dedicated to writing about music, pop culture, Battle Rap and their many facets with integrity and honesty. Those who love these topics are welcome to read, comment, and share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Passing of a Great Friend

  1. Magdalena says:

    Sorry for your loss. A great tribute to him.

  2. Sam says:

    Very kind words and yet so true for those who knew him.

Leave a Reply

