NWTS Album Review (Drake)

220px-Nothing_Was_the_Same_cover_2

Nothing Was The Same would be a dope R&B album.  As a matter of fact, I wouldn’t classify it as R&B or Hip-Hop.  It’s really a fusion of R&B and Hip Hop, which I don’t mind because good music is good music and unlike traditional Hip-Hop NWTS isn’t void of expressing love and emotion.

I got my eyes on you, you’re everything that I see
I want you hot love and emotion endlessly
I can’t get over you, you left your mark on me
I want your hot love and emotion endlessly
Drake – Hold On, Were Going Home

I don’t consider myself a Hip Hop purist because I like what I like.  You can catch me listening to anything from Kendrick Lamar, Nas, Rakim, Juicy J, Mac Dre, and 2 Chainz on any given day.  So, I had to ask myself what is it about NWTS that I like?  Well, it’s really just Easy Listening-Hip Hop music.  You don’t necessarily have to be in a certain mood to listen to the OVO Sound, Drake’s record label and team of in-house producers that he founded in 2012.  Easy Listening is still one of the most popular radio formats today.  Popularized in the 1950’s it encompasses many genres of music from crooners like Frank Sinatra and Nat King Cole to Steely Dan, Billy Joel, and Dido.  The main component in Easy Listening is that it has soft melodic vocals and instrumentation.

NTWS is Drake’s third studio album and he has created a niche for himself with this sound.  At the expense of being the antithesis of what’s considered “real Hip Hop” Drake is undeniably re-defining Hip-Hop’s landscape and is expanding it’s boundaries.  This doesn’t come without a price.  Although NWTS has received critical acclaim, it is the object of envy and slander from other MCs and fans, as being too “emo” for Hip Hop’s overly macho driven culture.

Selling an impressive 659,000 copies in it’s first week, NWTS is definitely worth buying.  I admit it was hard getting through the album my first listen because its very mushy.  It’s like watching a couple display extreme PDA except you’re listening to it.  After you get past the mushy subject matter, the songs are really catchy.  You’ll find yourself singing choruses from songs like For Time, Wu-Tang Forever, All Me, and Hold On, We’re Going Home.  Let’s not forget that Drake can actually rap, too.  In songs like Pound Cake ft. Jay Z and Too Much ft. Sampha he makes us remember why we respect him as an MC.

© Copyright Eddie Savoy Bailey III, 2013

Written by: Eddie Bailey of The Savoy Media Group

Twitter @BttleRapHistory & @SavoyMediaGroup

Email: writingbattleraphistory@gmail.com

Blog: writingbattleraphistory.wordpress.com

#WritingBattleRapHistory #WBRH

About writingbattleraphistory

I journal music, pop culture, and Battle Rap culture. WritingBattleRapHistory started off as a blog dedicated to Battle Rap that expanded into other genres. WritingBattleRapHistory is a branch of a larger company that I own & operate, The Savoy Media Group. This blog is dedicated to writing about music, pop culture, Battle Rap and their many facets with integrity and honesty. Those who love these topics are welcome to read, comment, and share.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

